Announcing the 2023–24 Season

Luna Composition Lab is proud to announce the 2023–24 Fellows and our upcoming season!

After a competitive application process, six aspiring female, nonbinary, and gender non-conforming composers have been selected. The six fellows range in age from 14 to 18 and hail from California, Connecticut, Missouri, and New York. They are Maria Emiliano, Ilaria Hawley, Haeon Lee, Peyton Nelesen, Marvel Roth, and Hannah Wolkowitz. Honorable Mentions were awarded to Samantha Adams-Blanco, Elishiya Crain-Keddie, Sophia Kunxu Dou, Danity Pike, and Ellie Wu.

This year we are delighted to have inti figgis-vizueta, Sarah Hennies, Veronika Krausas, Nina Shekhar, Wang Lu, and Dawn Norfleet as our returning mentors.

We are thrilled to be working with Kronos Quartet as our 2023–24 Ensemble in Residence. Kronos will work with our fellows throughout the year as they workshop their new pieces before they are premiered and recorded in San Francisco in June 2024.

Throughout the 2023–24 season Luna Composition Lab fellows will participate in virtual masterclasses with cellist Jeffrey Zeigler; sound artist/composer, improvising vocalist, and lyricist, Fay Victor; and composer Jeanine Tesori. These classes are also open to Honorable Mentions, applicants, and the broader community as auditors. If you are interested in auditing a class please join our mailing list.